The Malaysian Society for Biochemistry & Molecular Biology (MSBMB) was established in 1973 as a professional body representing biochemists and molecular biologists in Malaysia.  The Society aims to be a platform for Malaysian scientists to network and interact locally and internationally via a variety of activities such as conferences, seminars, workshops, special lectures and focus group meetings on matters related to biochemistry & molecular biology.  These are often organised in collaboration with universities and research institutions.     
The MSBMB is an adhering body to the Federation of Asian and Oceanian Biochemists and Molecular Biologists (FAOBMB) and The International Union of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (IUBMB). Members of the MSBMB are therefore eligible to apply for awards and fellowships managed by these 2 international bodies.     

The Malaysian Journal of Biochemistry

and Molecular Biology


E-ISSN 2600-9005


Published 3 times a year

MSBMB Newsletter 

Current Issue: December 2021

EXCO Section  

A password is required to access this page


MSBMB-Tan Sri Dato’ Kong Hon Kong Research Excellence Award 2020

- Prof. Dr. Tan Wen Siang

MSBMB President - Tan Sri Dato' Kong Hon Kong Award 2019

- Prof. Dr. Sheila Nathan

Call for 2022 nominations will be announced soon.

Upcoming Conferences 


       24-25 August 2022

       Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

       The Biochemistry Global Summit

       9-14 July 2022

       Lisbon, Portugal


  • FAOBMB Fellowships Committee and Guidelines here

  • Winner of the 2019 FAOBMB Research Excellence Award:  

     Jin-Soo Kim (S. Korea)

  • Winner of the 2019 FAOBMB Education

     Xiaolun Yu (China)


For inquiries, please contact the

Hon. Secretary:

Dr. Fung Shin Yee

Department of Molecular Medicine
Universiti Malaya


Become a member of MSBMB


Benefits of membership:

  1. Eligibility for MSBMB, FAOBMB & IUBMB Fellowships, Awards and Grants.

  2. Reduced Registration Fees for Annual Conferences, Workshops, Seminars & MSBMB supported partner events

  3. Be part of a vibrant community of local and international scientists  

MSBMB membership fees for Jan-Dec 2020 are DUE

Please click this link for more information.

FAOBMB Travel Fellowships for the FAOBMB-CSBMB Conference in China, October 2022


FAOBMB Travel Fellowships will be awarded for the 29th FAOBMB & 2022 CSBMB (Chinese Society of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology) Conference to take place in Shenzhen, China, from 19-22 October 2022 to attend, either in person or online.


Applications for these fellowships are now invited from well qualified Graduate students/postdoctoral fellows/early career Biochemists and/or Molecular Biologists, from the FAOBMB region and within 10 years of completion of a PhD degree at the date of the application deadline (24 June, 2022).

Detailed Guidelines and the Application Form can be found on the following section of the FAOBMB webpage:

Successful applicants for these Fellowships will each be given the opportunity to give an oral presentation, either in person or online, on their research work in a session of the 29th FAOBMB & 2022 CSBMB Conference in Shenzhen, October 2022.

Applications close on 24 June, 2022



Further information:

Professor Paul Gleeson, Chair FAOBMB Fellowships Committee 


MSBMB President’s - Tan Sri Dato’ Kong Hon Kong Award 2022


We pleased to announce the Inaugural call for nomination for the MSBMB President’s - Tan Sri Dato’ Kong Hon Kong Award 2022.

The MSBMB President’s - Tan Sri Dato’ Kong Hon Kong Award is awarded to a distinguished biochemist or molecular biologist who has made important contributions to the field of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology at the national and international level as evident through their track record. The track record should reflect excellence in scientific contributions to the field and sustained research productivity. The contributions include, but are not limited to publications, receipt of awards, receipt of funding or grants from prestigious funding bodies (e.g. Wellcome Trust UK, NIH USA, BMGF, Royal Society UK, MRC UK), invitation as plenary or invited speaker at prestigious meetings and other recognized achievements of similar standing. 

The winner of the MSBMB President’s - Tan Sri Dato’ Kong Hon Kong Award will receive an honorarium of RM5000, a trophy, a certificate of achievement and induction as a Life Member of MSBMB. 

The recipient of the award will be required to deliver the MSBMB President’s - Tan Sri Dato’ Kong Hon Kong Award Lecture at the 46th MSBMB Conference in August 2022. 


Kindly download the GUIDELINES and NOMINATION FORMS here

Email the completed nomination forms to with the subject header 'MSBMB Awards 2022'

Nominations must be received by 15th April 2022

Thank you 
Hon Secretary 

46th Annual Conference of MSBMB

We are pleased to announce that the Malaysian Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology in collaboration with WMIT Group Sdn Bhd will be organizing the 46TH ANNUAL CONFERENCE OF THE MALAYSIAN SOCIETY FOR BIOCHEMISTRY AND MOLECULAR BIOLOGY 2022 (MSBMB46)

The conference will be held both physically (In-person) & Online.

The theme of this year's conference is
Advancement of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology in the Digital Era

Date   : 24 - 25 August 2022 (Wednesday and Thursday)
Venue : Bangi Resort Hotel, Selangor, Malaysia

This 2-day conference will address current and latest advances in various biochemistry and molecular biology research and breakthroughs. The conference will provide opportunities for researchers, academicians and students to network and share their latest knowledge, experience and achievements.

The conference organiser cordially invites academics, researchers, policy makers and government agencies to participate as presenters or participants in MSBMB46. We also highly encourage the participation of postgraduate students to present their research proposal, literature review and findings in this conference with a special registration fee.

Authors are invited to submit papers for oral and poster presentations.

Abstract submission date is by 30 May 2022.

The abstract will be reviewed and corresponding author will be notified within 2 weeks after the submission.

Publication Opportunity
Authors of the selected abstracts will be invited to submit their full research article to Malaysian Journal of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (E-ISSN 2600-9005; Indexed by SCOPUS and MYCITE)

Shall you have any enquiries, feel free to contact the organizing committee at or

Best regards,
MSBMB46 Secretariat,
The MSBMB Bulletin

The 11th issue (December 2021) of the MSBMB Bulletin is