Professor Dr. Lim Yang Mooi  


Malaysian Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (MSBMB)


From the President's Desk  

International Women's Day Message (March 8th 2019) 






















International Women's Day Message (March 8th 2018) 

Her Compassion and Beauty touches everyone

Her Vibrance cheers up everyone's day

Her Passion and Perseverance reaches the highest

Her Aspirations makes dreams come true

Let us celebrate International Women's Day! 

New Year's Greeting (Jan 1st 2018)


Dear Distingushed MSBMB members,

On behalf of MSBMB, i would like to thank you for your great support and contributions to MSBMB. I wish everyone a happy, prosperous, and successful new year 2018.

Welcome Message (October 15th 2017)

​Dear Esteemed and Prospective Members,

First and foremost, I would like to extend my utmost appreciation for your support while serving as the President of the Malaysian Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology for the 2017-2019 term.  I am deeply honored to hold this office. I would like to take this opportunity to record my gratitude to all the past presidents for their leadership, commitment and enthusiasm in establishing the credentials of the MSBMB for the past 44 years.


I joined MSBMB in 2004 and was nominated as the co-opted member from 2009-2011.  I truly appreciate Professor Sheila Nathan, who was then the President and the EXCO members to provide this special opportunity for me to serve the association as a co-opted members.  I continued to serve the association as the Honorary Secretary from 2011 to 2015 and then as the Vice President from 2015-2017.  

Throughout these years, I have learnt that MSBMB has played a vital role in bringing together biochemist and molecular biologist not only from the local institutions, but also from the regional and international institutions to share their research findings at our Annual Conferences.  Moreover, MSBMB has been contributory in advocating science for the young scientists and junior members by championing the Intervarsity Biochemistry Seminar and Young Scientist Network.  MSBMB recognizes the importance of research excellence, and hence MSBMB provides Best Undergraduate Thesis Award, MSBMB Annual Conference Fellowship and MSBMB International Travel Fellowship to acknowledge the awardees for their research excellence. The success in advocating and advancing science among members is the priority of MSBMB; I am therefore enthusiastic to work with the committed EXCO members to continue these efforts.


In this coming two years, we will widen our connection with more societies and encourage more participation from members through Special Interest Groups and appointed University Representatives.  We are also proud to announce two more awards and fellowships recognising members and scientists for their significant contribution to the field of biochemistry and molecular biology.  These awards and fellowships are, 1) MSBMB President’s Fellowship Award and, 2) Research Excellence Award.  We will also strive to increase the number of research articles published in the Malaysian Journal of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology.

Last but not least, we will also establish the Academic Leadership and Education Committee to look into matters pertaining to excellent leadership and biochemistry education. I would like to conclude by thanking our esteemed and prospective members for your continued support for MSBMB. I look forward to productive and successful years for MSBMB. I delighted to invite you to join us to make many great successes for MSBMB.


I would like to take this opportunity to wish all women a happy women’s day. I admire your wisdom that bring you to join the other half of the world to succeed. It is your courage that make you stand firmly at your current position. Let’s us be elegant in the way we work. 

- Lim Yang Mooi

The MSBMB joins in celebrating the theme of International Women's Day

8th March 2019